Upcoming dramas in 2009(mostly Taiwanese)

Cain and Abel – premiers February 18, stars So Ji-Sub, Han Ji-Min, and Chae Jung-ahn – I am really excited about this. I love So Ji-Sub from what I’ve seen so far, and I always like a show about doctors(and brothers)🙂

Swallow the Sun – stars Lee Wan, story about two men who grow up as best friends and then become bitter rivals

Infernal Lover, starring Mike He, also known as Hua Wu Fei Xue – not sure when this will premier, they’re shooting it right now

Superstar Express, also known as To Get Her, starring Rainie Yang, premiers February 15

Black and White, starring Vic Zhou and Mark Chao, premiers April 11(Vic, unless you deliver a good performance in this drama, I’m giving up on you. I’m not kidding)

Full House 2 is happenning but there’s precious few details on it yet aside from the fact that it will premier in August

Starlit, starring Jerry Yan and Terri Kwan(read: girl who always plays Vic Zhou’s secondary girl), began airing yesterday, but I’m going to stay as far away from it as possible. I honestly crack up every time I read the casting list again. They managed to pair together two of the absolute worst actors in the whole industry – as the main leads of a drama. I like the dramas both Jerry and Terri are in. But they can’t act to save their lives, particularly Terri.

Extravagant Challenge– starring Jerry Yan and Ariel Lin(again, two actors I don’t particularly like), the drama has been postponed indefinitely

Triple, however, is possibly the drama I’m most excited about. Stars Min Hyo-Rin and…Kang Ji Hwan, I think, though to be honest I checked three different sources and they all listed a different actor! so who knows. It’s about figure skaters, however, which imo is something you can’t go wrong with(almost). Premiers May 2009.

10 Responses

  1. oh seriously? Starlit is a good watch bec of the good performances of the actors. though The Jerry’s The Hospital might have a deeper plot, jerry is at his most natural acting in Starlit. well, not to mention the most dramatic crying scenes.

  2. Really? hmm. He wasn’t awful in Meteor Garden, just because his character barely had to act at all. maybe I should give this a shot.

  3. Starlit is an awesome drama so I don’t now what you’re talking about. Jerry and Terri are doing a wonderful job. Everyone should watch Starlit. I’m addicted to this drama!

  4. eh? you might wanna watch first to disprove your prejudice?
    i think jerry and terri are very good in starlit.

  5. Actually,when 1st time i watched Meteor Garden, i fall in love with Jerry Yan character-Tau Ming Tze,but when he start fallen in love with Ye Sha (Michelle Saram character) in Meteor Garden 2 & he forgot San Chai, i start hate him.Sory everybody, i know its not Jerry faults.But San Chai is very pity. right now,i’m not Jerry Yan fans anymore & i dont interest with his new drama. I just wanna ask you,What about “Qiao Qiao Ai Shang Ni” ? I read in some forum that series will be broadcasting in March 2009,so where is the list?

  6. Well, this lsit was never meant to be complete – it’s just a sampling of upcoming dramas I’m interested in. thanks for the tip though – I looked this up and it did sound interesting! I”ll post about it soon.

  7. Thank you for sharing .. It’s me again.. You said this site was never meant to be complete.. So, you can complete this site with Ming Dao series right ? Ming Dao had many new drama like Quietly Falling In Love With You ( Qiao Qiao Ai Sang Ni ), Stand By You etc .. When that series will be airing? Maybe you have some info .. Please,complete this site with Ming Dao series too .. B4 & after thank you so much😉

  8. thanks 4 sharing!
    please update the latest news about ming dao’s new series, when it will be airing? 2nt hardly wait…..
    is the dvd available in stores now?
    please help me with the info.
    thanks a lot! god bless!

  9. Lina – I did a post on Quietly Falling in Love with You, see it here-
    https://asiacollision.wordpress.com/2009/03/22/upcoming-taiwanese-drama-quietly-falling-in-love-with-you/

    hope you enjoy!

  10. Hi Liana, yes, you’re right, I’m sorry, though you understand since you both requested the same thing and have very similar names that it was easy to get confused🙂 I’m sorry though!

    I’ll get to the other Ming Tao series when I have time: please try to be a little less demanding, I only have so much time to post and when I do I’d like to post about what I’m interested in – I’m not particularly interested in Ming Tao so I’m only doing this as a favor to you guys because I appreciate you😀. I WILL get to it eventually.

Leave a Reply

