Shining Inheritance/Brilliant Legacy

  • Title: 찬란한 유산 / Chanranhan Yusan
  • Also known as: Shining Inheritance / Brilliant Legacy / Beautiful Legacy
  • Previously known as: 인생은 아름다워 / Life Is Beautiful
  • Genre: Romance
  • Episodes: 26
  • Broadcast network: SBS
  • Broadcast period: 2009-Apr-25 to 2009-Jul-??
  • Air time: Saturday & Sunday 21:45

Cast

After hearing raves from both friends and critics, I decided to start watching Shining Inheritance/Brilliant Legacy. And I’m quite pleased with it so far; the word that springs to mind is that it’s a very very solid kdrama.  The opening scene is interesting and does a good job of setting up the four main characters and foreshadowing their future relationships; the actors and actresses are all sufficiently good-looking and charming and expressive(at least thus far) and the plot, while hardly, original, is compelling enough – it’s very hard, after all, to go wrong with a Cinderella story, which is pretty much what Shining Inheritance is. Han Hyo-Joo of Iljimae and Spring Waltz plays Go Eun Sung, the pretty, strong-willed daughter of the president of a major food company, while relative newcomer Lee Seung Ki plays her future love interest and Bae Soo Bin and Moon Chae Won round out the requisite drama foursome. Han Hyo-Joo is one of the major reasons I started watching this – I haven’t seen a drama with her before but she really caught my eye in the stills for it – and thus far she doesn’t disappoint; she carries off with ease the charming headstrong nature her character is supposed to present, though I’m watching her with an eagle eye to see whether she can also pull off the finer nuances of angst/deep emotion which I’m sure will be required of her in future. Some drama actors/actresses can only do either angst or cuteness, not both. The best excel at both and can switch back and forth with ease. I’m also interested to see that one of the characters is her autistic brother; Korean dramas deal more often than Western entertainment with mental illness/handicapped children but still not very often, so this is rather refreshing.

So yes. It’s solid. My main doubts remain whether it can go from solid to amazing, or at least remain on solid ground, and whether Han Hyo Joo is just a good or a very good actress, and whether Lee Seung Ki is good-looking to retain my interest for 26 episodes.

Download the softsubs here and the RAWS here

Or watch online on Mysoju

5 Responses

  1. I’m so addicted to this one :)

  2. me too! i regret not having watched this earlier. ^^

  3. me three..altho my cousin told me about this series last June but I didn’t pay attention till October and I so regret not getting into it soon….for me this is Great!!!

  4. where can i watch this besides mysoju?? cos some of the episodes there are broken!! help! :(

  5. thankss

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

